DAY ONE-HUNDRED-THIRTY-THREE: He’s (Not) Dead, Jim!

meLulJMThe reports of the death of Spokes and Jokes have been greatly exaggerated.

Heather just suggested a modified plan that has us leave in May and just do two months, still biking to Texas, but me manning up by biking about 60 miles per day instead of 30-40. This will allow us to reduce our food and lodging budgets.

So far, with modifications, the budget for this trip has dropped from just over $11,000 to just over $3,000.

That’s progress.

Here are the present hurdles we must address.

1. Finding a truck and camper we can take on the trip (donated, hopefully).

2 Getting the gigs. Kind of important. I don’t think it will be hard, but we need to get on it.

3. Finding a trustworthy person to house sit for us. We actually have a plan for this, but need to flesh it out.

4. Finding out how to raise just over $3,000 in 4 months.

I will be doing a lot of shows in the next few months in Maine. Why don’t you speak to someone at your church about having me? It costs you nothing. Just let me take an offering there for my performance.

Finally, thank you to those of you who have asked me how the trip planning is coming even through my absence of blogging. You are helping to keep my faith in this adventure alive!

Leave a Reply

