DAY SEVEN: Thank you to Bob Goff, the bikers from South Africa and Jesus Christ.

Image“So,” you might ask. “Who is Bob Goff?”

Bob Goff is a unique man who had a lot of quirky ideas but didn’t let them die in his mind. I have no doubt that if you find his book, Love Does, you will thank yourself for reading it. It is filled with stories of what he did to enjoy the opportunities that were set before him in life.

Where many people just live like other people live because that’s what they assume they are supposed to do, Bob Goff thinks and acts outside of the box. Oftentimes he cannot even see the box from where he’s standing.

I want to be more like Bob Goff. His inspiration played a part in me pursuing this bike trip and the nurturing of my standup comedy career.

I’d also like to thank the couple I met last year in Brooks who were biking from Washington, DC to Maine, then back to hop a flight back to the small island they manage in the Caribbean. I still remember the quote of the gentleman who had decided to start arranging his life in a way that was more pleasing to him by saying, “at the end of it all, you get out of the rat race, but you’re still a rat”.

Lastly, but NOT least importantly, I thank Jesus Christ not just for saving me from death and bondage to sin, but for his direction to “not start worrying: ‘Where will my food come from? or my drink? or my clothes?’ (These are the things the heathen are always concerned about.) Your Father in heaven knows that you need all these things. Instead, be concerned above everything else with his Kingdom and with what he requires, and he will provide you with all these other things. So do not worry about tomorrow; it will have enough worries of its own. There is no need to add to the troubles each day brings.”

It seems that a good many of us (including myself) suffer from a fear that we must chain ourselves to a desk to earn enough money to pay for some things we have convinced we cannot live without, but without considering all that we sacrifice to obtain them. I want to have a contentment for merely what I need and I want to stop freaking out when I do not trust God’s provisions for me. I think I am supposed to keep myself in situations where I need to lean on his provision in a very visible way. Man, it’s hard. I don’t like it, but I think I don’t like it simply because I do not trust Him as I should. Sure, I talk about it, but it’s just not there.

And maybe this trip ISN’T something He wants me to do? I need to keep my eyes and mind open and exercise wisdom along the way in its planning, and be conscious to not have it become an idol in my life that eclipses in perceived size the exalted God that might allow me the opportunity.

One thought on “DAY SEVEN: Thank you to Bob Goff, the bikers from South Africa and Jesus Christ.

  1. Pingback: DAY EIGHTY-ONE: Bob Goff Called Me Back! | spokesandjokes

Leave a Reply

